Klaipeda in western Lithuania is a port and fishing center on the Baltic Sea. It has 187,442 inhabitants. Klaipeda is Lithuania's only port that has a major terminal with connections to Germany, Denmark, and Sweden. Like many other cities of the former East Prussia. Klaipeda has two names, officially from 1252 to1945 it was named Memel and from 1945 to present it has had the name Klaipeda. Settled by the 7th century, the community was destroyed by the Teutonic Knights. It was held briefly by Sweden and then was under Prussian control until 1919. In 1920 the community became the capital of the Memel Territory, and in 1923 it passed to Lithuania and was renamed Klaipeda. It was concurred by Germany in 1939, was incorporated into the Lithuanian Soviet Socialist Republic in 1945, and became part of independent Lithuania in 1991.
Klaipeda most important attractions are the historical buildings in the city's center, from the 13th-18 centuries.
Other places of concentration include the bits and pieces of the Castle, built in the 13th century by the Livonian Order It had a gigantic bulk and a quadrangular tower, encircled by the ramparts and brick bastions. It lost of importance with the Russian occupation in 1546, and started to decay.
The Zarde ancient settlement, situated on the right bank of the Smilteles River. It is dated in the late Iron Age (10th century), and was inhabited until the 16th century.