1-800-342-0019 Speak to a River Cruise Expert

Viking Cruises Reviews

4.3/5 - Excellent

Based off 2,210 Reviews

Viking River Cruises Customer Reviews

Overall Rating
4.3
Accommodations
4.2
Itinerary
4.3
Professional Staff
4.6
Repeat with Operator
4.2
Value for Money
4

We Are Committed To:

Call Us For a Free Quote at 1-800-342-0019

Call for Best Value and Service on Viking River Cruises

Ratings based off 2,210 reviews about Viking River Cruises - currently showing 50 reviews with comments only
BG
Barbara
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2022

This was my 7th trip with Viking. They always go above and beyond

PJ
Paula

As always Viking went over and above expectations! Book it you won't regret it!

LS
Leland
Reviewed on Sep 14, 2022

Viking is a first class river cruise operator. They specialize in customer service and strive for satisfaction. The food and drink are over the top and always top quality. We were blown away when the cruise ended, a ship representative escorted us to the airport and remained with us until we entered airport security. We certainly will cruise again with Viking.

AC
Andrew

A very enjoyable experience.

SM
Sherri

Viking does a wonderful job. They really take good care of their guests!

MC
Michael
Reviewed on Aug 15, 2022

Viking did an excellent job. The trip was great. 

SM
Sandra
Reviewed on Jul 23, 2022

Viking River Cruises was first class all the way. The staff, food, accommodations, tours, etc. were all great.

KH
Khizer
Reviewed on Jul 18, 2022

Travel agent Soazeg Vadel very supportive.

CG
Carolyn

Tour behind the previous Iron Curtain¦..something I never thought would be possible. Sobering historical tours. Beautiful landscape. Wonderful art

BD
Barbara
Reviewed on Jul 02, 2022

I was not made aware of the optional tours in Paris with the exception of the Montmartre tour.

JR
James
Reviewed on Jun 29, 2022

We were on the Viking Torgil. It was exceptional. The food was excellent and the ship/stateroom were immaculate. The staff, as always were extremely helpful. With Viking there is never a problem, as any issue that comes up is an opportunity for them to find a solution. This was our second tour with Viking. There will be more. We added on the extension in Lisbon. The hotel was great, as was the staff. Cannot recommend highly enough.

HL
Howard

Trip was wonderful. Food great, they catered to all my needs.

AT
Amelia

The South of France is beautiful at any time but with the lavender fields blooming, this time of the year is amazing.

TC
Thomas

The cabin was smaller than what we expected based on previous cruises with other operators. The staff was great. The included tours were average. We would have liked more walking tours but realize that would be difficult in large cities. We thought the Prague walking tour was poor. The Regent Hotel in Berlin was great. Nice room and convenient location. The Hilton in Prague was ok. The room setup was had little storage space, and the bathroom was small with no space around the sink for toiletries. The modern decor was aesthetically pleasing, but not very functional.

SR
Susan
Reviewed on Jun 06, 2022

Trip was fantastic. Aside from airline cancellation and delays, the Viking Cruise lived up to our expectations.

TS
Timothy
Reviewed on Jun 05, 2022

Viking is top-notch

JC
James

Viking was outstanding in terms of customer service, quality of the food, the excursions that were included as well as the optional excursions. The ship is laid out well, our room was amazing and it was very relaxing. Viking was extremely organized and communicated the events of the day and next day. We had a great time and would sail with them again.

JB
James

This was our fourth Viking cruise, and we have never been disappointed. This company has consistently been excellent in terms of quality, service and value.

MR
Michael
Reviewed on May 28, 2022

We've enjoyed excellent service from several different Affordable Tours agents over the years, but Jim Leary has been the best by far. He is knowledgeable, courteous, professional, and always promptly attentive in responding to our inquiries and requests. We will continue to seek out his assistance with our travel needs and recommend him to our friends and family members without reservation.

RO
Randal
Reviewed on May 21, 2022

Viking River Cruises are first rate. The onboard staff are all friendly and professional. We haven't met one yet that we thought was anything else but that. Itineraries are very interesting and the local tour guides really enhance any trip.

DS
Doyle
Reviewed on May 11, 2022

Viking gives you the absolute best for your money. The food, the accommodations and especially the staff are exceptional in every way.

DW
David

The Viking travel experience was truly first class in the boat, the stateroom, the service and the people. They were excellent in every aspect of making the vacation comfortable.

MB
Michael

The Viking River Cruise met all expectations. The trip was enjoyable and the Viking staff was tremendous

RT
Rosemarie

A few trips listed as easy within the Vikibg tour were not easy walking

MW
Michael

This was our second Viking cruise. We chose them again because they exceeded our expectations on our first cruise.

HA
Helen
Reviewed on Apr 27, 2022

Affordable tours did a great job in booking our Viking cruise, Hue was very responsive to my questions. I highly recommend her. We were offered $300 per person for booking with Affordable tours on Viking cruises. However Viking charges a hefty percentage for proceess it, the $600 for the two of us should have amounted to 571 euros [exchange rate was 1.05 euros to one dollar]. Viking discounted the value of the $600 to only 518 euros which is pretty significant.

NS
Norman
Reviewed on Apr 26, 2022

Another superb Viking River Cruise experience. As advertised with usual level of service by the staff. Only issue was a change in optional excursions that was not communicated before departure.

DG
Daniel

We had a great trip on the Viking Delling (Avignon to Lyon). This is a trip that any wine lover will enjoy. Lot's of opportunities to visit wineries (and even an olive farm) and learn more about wine along the way on the day tours. Staff on board ship are incredible. Everything is first class.

EF
Elizabeth
Reviewed on Apr 09, 2022

Always enjoy traveling with Viking.

AD
Anita

Pricy with limited entertainment but food and excursions were outstanding.

FF
Frank

We thoroughly enjoyed our Viking Rhine River Cruise.

SH
Saran
Reviewed on Mar 27, 2022

Staff was wonderful. Accommodations excellent. Plane connections worked except for return flight. Flight was cancelled and I received no notification about this.

AR
Alberto
Reviewed on Mar 27, 2022

I was truly taken aback at how Viking takes care of EVERY detail to insure travelers are safe and can enjoy the trip. When plans changed they were done seamlessly with little discomfort or anxiety to the travelers. For example, during one of our daily trip excursions there was a change of schedule and we were not going to be able to return to the ship for lunch so Viking gave everyone a $25 Euro credit on their shipboard account as most people were going to have to have lunch in town. Viking did this on their own. No one asked nor were expecting this which was a very thoughtful and pleasant surprise. Vienna a bunch of folks wanted to venture into town on their own and seeing this was appealing the Viking activities director decided to form an impromptu field trip to take everyone to town on the Metro Underground and escort them group to town so no one would get lost. They also gave everyone a map of the metro and easy instructions on how to return to the ship using the metro which was a the least expensive way to travel like a local. I HIGHLY recommend that Viking travelers take advantage of the pre-paid gratuities package offered as it really does remove that from the list of things to do as you leave the ship.

JS
Jamie

Vince was very responsive to my numerous questions and helped us get free air and room upgrade plus ship credit and use existing credit. I did have to call the day before departure and another agent sent me the correct link to get my travel insurance policy cards etc

DS
Dawn

Aga was able to secure our balcony room quickly as it was last-minute. Thank you!

KK
Kathleen

Viking is an amazing operator will definitely travel with them again.

JH
James

Our experience with affordable tours and with Viking itself was a very pleasurable experience. Everything we were promised was delivered, the cruise was exceptional and the Viking crew and staff took care of our every need. I would not hesitate to take another cruise with them and use Affordable Tours as our agent, in fact we are looking at other cruise destinations that we are interested in booking. The entire experience was exceptional.

RC
Rosario

There were only 41 passengers snd we had a blast with a full crew! The safety and well being of the passengers snd crew were their utmost priority. We had a nasal PCR swab prior to boarding then Saliva PCR test daily. They made sure we get everything we needed.

DF
Dorothy

We had an awesome time!! Viking is a wonderful company to travel with.

AR
Albert
Reviewed on Sep 22, 2021

First Viking River cruise experience, and it was wonderful in all respects. Beyond service, itinerary, included tours, etc, I want to highlight the self-serve coffee machine on deck 2: it was the best ship coffee we've ever had on multiple cruises on multiple lines. The motorized blackout shade in our cabin was also terrific.

PG
Patrick

The hotel in Paris was totally unprepared for the amount of guests that came. Room wasnt made up and I had to go get towels myself. The breakfast buffet was a disaster. They only had 3 people working the restaurant and it was painfully obvious that they were not ready for us. They tried their best. I talked to the night manager and he expressed the difficulty that they were having in hiring competent staff (seems to be a common problem). The Hyatt in the Czech Republic was execellent. Truely, the difference was night and day. I would be very reluctant to recommend the Paris Hotel to anyone. Cabin on ship was excellent.

DU
Darrell
Reviewed on Aug 05, 2021

Jerry did an excellent job. We've booked over 20 tours with Affordable Tours and this was one of the easiest to book. We did have problems but they were with Viking, not Affordable Tours. We had to call back to the US with our problems and Jerry resolved them with Viking while we were on the tour.

RK
Robert
Reviewed on Feb 10, 2020

Very fun. Learned a lot. Met good people. Had wonderful local guides. Excellent safety.

SC
Soon
Reviewed on Dec 14, 2019

Viking met and exceeded our expectation. It was our very first river cruise and we're simply blown away with the overall experience. The room was always kept neat and tidy. The food and wait staff were outstanding. All the included excursions were great. Couldn't have ask for a better trip. Another check mark off our bucket lists!

JB
Jacqueline

Our Viking Cruise was nearly flawless. They go out of their way to make sure you have a lovely time. The accommodations are a little plain but most of what you do is off the ship. We loved the comfort of the modern busses and the use of the headsets to hear what the guide was saying made it so easy to catch every word. The guides are the best in the industry. The itineraries were all very interesting. We did not feel that we wasted a minute of our time. The food was excellent and included local recipes along with many other choices. The wine was great and was included with each meal. There was always some kind of entertainment in the evening. The set up on the ship made it possible to easily mingle with other guests.

JF
Judith
Reviewed on Dec 01, 2019

The staff on the Viking Cruise were phenomenal. They were very pleasant, attentive and accommodating. The Program Director, David, was energetic and enthusiastic. He skillfully managed problems that arise that were beyond his control(climate related). He did so in a positive and update manner. Lufthansa Airlines was very disappointing. The loading procedures both here and in Germany were very disorganized. We almost missed a connecting flight! On our return.

JL
John
Reviewed on Dec 01, 2019

The eight day trip through Hungary, Austria, and Germany on the Danube to visit historic sights and the various Christmas Markets was a wonderful experience. The Viking cruise met our highest expectations. Be prepared for a range of temperatures from the 40's to below freezing.

LA
Linda
Reviewed on Nov 27, 2019

Karen did a great job coordinating this wonderful trip from Miami to Zurich .we flow many airlines before, but Swiss Air is the best. Cruise was great , staff was very courteous , helpful and attentive to our needs. . Will try Viking in the future.

LS
Laura

Wonderful experience. A dream journey!!

CG
Christine
Reviewed on Nov 11, 2019

This was one of the best trips I have ever been on!


AffordableTours.com BBB Business Review

Better Business Bureau

AffordableTours.com is a proud recipient of the Better Business Bureau (BBB) awards 2006-2022 with A+ Rating.

It Pays To Refer! Earn Up To $200!

It's simple: Sign up your friends, family, and anyone to us and when they book you will receive an American Express gift card worth up to $200 in the mail for simply referring.

Read More

Get discounts by Email!