Essential Egypt

Essential Egypt


Please Note: This tour is only applicable for 18 to 29 year olds.

Overview

Dates & Prices

*Departure Dates in bold denote Guaranteed Departures
Start DateEnd DateOffersBrochure
Land Price
Our PriceQuote
From
Wed, Feb 06, 2019
To
Thu, Feb 14, 2019
Deals$985Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Feb 20, 2019
To
Thu, Feb 28, 2019
Deals$930Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Mar 06, 2019
To
Thu, Mar 14, 2019
Deals$895Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Mar 20, 2019
To
Thu, Mar 28, 2019
Deals$915Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Mar 27, 2019
To
Thu, Apr 04, 2019
Deals$865Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Apr 10, 2019
To
Thu, Apr 18, 2019
Deals$935Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Apr 17, 2019
To
Thu, Apr 25, 2019
Deals$865Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, May 01, 2019
To
Thu, May 09, 2019
Deals$880Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, May 15, 2019
To
Thu, May 23, 2019
Deals$830Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, May 29, 2019
To
Thu, Jun 06, 2019
Deals$830Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Jun 05, 2019
To
Thu, Jun 13, 2019
Deals$855Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Jun 12, 2019
To
Thu, Jun 20, 2019
Deals$830Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Jun 19, 2019
To
Thu, Jun 27, 2019
Deals$830Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Jul 03, 2019
To
Thu, Jul 11, 2019
Deals$870Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Sat, Jul 06, 2019
To
Sun, Jul 14, 2019
Deals$830Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Jul 10, 2019
To
Thu, Jul 18, 2019
Deals$830Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Jul 17, 2019
To
Thu, Jul 25, 2019
Deals$830Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Jul 24, 2019
To
Thu, Aug 01, 2019
Deals$830Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Aug 07, 2019
To
Thu, Aug 15, 2019
Deals$830Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Aug 14, 2019
To
Thu, Aug 22, 2019
Deals$830Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Sep 04, 2019
To
Thu, Sep 12, 2019
Deals$880Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Sep 11, 2019
To
Thu, Sep 19, 2019
Deals$865Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Sep 18, 2019
To
Thu, Sep 26, 2019
Deals$935Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Sat, Sep 21, 2019
To
Sun, Sep 29, 2019
Deals$865Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Sep 25, 2019
To
Thu, Oct 03, 2019
Deals$865Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Oct 02, 2019
To
Thu, Oct 10, 2019
Deals$865Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Oct 09, 2019
To
Thu, Oct 17, 2019
Deals$865Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Oct 16, 2019
To
Thu, Oct 24, 2019
Deals$865Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Oct 23, 2019
To
Thu, Oct 31, 2019
Deals$895Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Nov 06, 2019
To
Thu, Nov 14, 2019
Deals$895Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Nov 13, 2019
To
Thu, Nov 21, 2019
Deals$895Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Nov 20, 2019
To
Thu, Nov 28, 2019
Deals$895Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Dec 04, 2019
To
Thu, Dec 12, 2019
Deals$895Get Our PriceGet Quote
From
Wed, Dec 18, 2019
To
Thu, Dec 26, 2019
Deals$895Get Our PriceGet Quote
* Departure Dates in bold denote Guaranteed Departures

Promotions

Call or submit a quote for award-winning value and service!

Book With $1 Deposit

Mention Promo Code: PT6767
Promotion Image

Book With $1 Deposit

Book With $1 Deposit

Promotion Details
Get swept up in the sheer beauty of the world with Intrepid! Dollar deposits make adventures easy. You can lock in any small group adventure for only $1. Plus as always receive our AffordableTours.com 5% extra savings. Your discounted rate will be shown on your quote. Please contact your travel consultant for applicable vacations.
Must Book By Fri, Feb 15, 2019
View Promotion Terms & Conditions ›

The offer of $1 deposits to secure an Intrepid Travel small group adventure applies to bookings made January 3 - February 15, 2019 and is valid on trips departing January 3 - December 14, 2019. The $1 deposit offer is only available to customers booking in the following currencies: USD. The $1 deposit can be paid towards any Intrepid Travel small group adventure with the following exclusions: Polar trips - includes all itineraries in the Arctic and Antarctic; Expedition Trips; Private Groups; Adventure Cruising, Short Breaks and gorilla treks - pre purchased permits are required to secure the trek to see the gorillas. Excluded gorilla trekking trips: YXOG, YXOCC, YXOIC, YXOEC, YXOGC, YXOFC, UXODC, YGAG, YGAR. If you wish to book the Inca Trial trek they are not eligible for the $1 deposit offer and will be required to pay the full deposit price at the time of booking. Pre-purchased permits are required to secure this trek. Trips with Inca Trail trek option: GGKY, GGBL, GGSQ, GGTA, GGHC-O, GGKP, GGKY, GGTBC, GGSEC, GGSO, GGSUC, GGRQC, GGRWC, GGRNC, GGRPC, GGRTC. If you choose to book the Quarry Trail trek or train option you do not require a permit and the trip can be booked with the $1 deposit offer. The offer can be applied to new bookings only. Under no circumstances will the offer be applied to existing bookings. There will be no extensions to the booking, travel or payment periods. The offer applies to the tour price only and cannot be used in conjunction with any other offer or discount. The trip is subject to availability and confirmation by Intrepid Travel at time of booking. Additional restrictions may apply.

Itinerary

Countries Visited

Egypt

Cities Visited

Aswan, Cairo, Luxor

Tour Itinerary

Cairo is your kickoff point, check out the Pyramids and Sphinx while you're in the area. Head on to Aswan for temples, bazaars and camel ride. Next is sailing down the Nile in a Felucca, then Luxor and the Valley of the Kings before you head back to Cairo. Holiday success.A guy called Khufu was responsible for building the Great Pyramid. It's 4500 years old, 146m tall and made from 2.3 million blocks weighing around 2.5 tons each. And how did they honour him? With a 9cm tall statue. Bummer.Before booking on this trip we recommend that you read the 'Safety' section in the trip notes regarding special safety considerations for Egypt trips.

Day 1: Cairo
Welcome to Cairo. You will meet with your trip leader and the rest of your group at 6 pm this evening. Check for a note in the hotel lobby or ask the hotel reception for the location. If you're going to be late, just let the hotel know. If you arrive early enough, go immerse yourself in the madness: grab a pair of authentic Roy Bands sunnies from the bazaar, embrace the kitsch world of Dr Ragab's Pharaonic Village, then share a sahlab (sweet, hot custard drink with nuts) and p'raps a sheesha pipe with your new travel buddies.

Day 2: Cairo – Pyramids – Sphinx
Today you'll take a trip to the Egyptian Museum to see the golden mask of none other than King Tutankhamun. Drive out to the edge of the desert and explore the pyramids and the nearby Sphinx (nobody's quite sure how it lost its nose). Later, with free time, there are plenty of further options, like visiting the Valley Temple of King Khafre (Chephren). In the evening, it's time for your sleeper train to Aswan (Sleeper Train to Aswan sounds a bit like the title of an adventure novel, doesn't it? Just you wait).

Day 3: Aswan
Enjoy some breakfast, then put on your haggling hat (or just a regular hat, we don't mind) for a trip to the bazaar. Grab useful stuff like books, cotton tops and sunhats for your upcoming Nile cruise. Splurge on fun stuff like perfume oil, leather bags and jewellery just for the heck of it.

Day 4: Aswan
Today is yours to spend as you please in Aswan. The optional drive to Abu Simbel is well worth it, because this is one of the coolest temples on earth, cut out of a solid rock cliff. A real winner, as far as sightseeing in Egypt goes (and that is obviously saying a lot). Renting a minivan with your fellow travellers is the way to go. It'll be an early start (around 5-6 am), and it takes about three hours to get there, and another three to get back. If you'd rather save time and fly there, that's possible too. Notes: Flights don't go to Abu Simbel every day, and they'll usually set you back US $250-300. It's best to fly in the morning, so you can beat the heat (it's down south). Your trip leader won't accompany you on a flight – only the land travel option. Local guides can be hired on arrival.

Day 5: Nile Felucca
All aboard! Time to sail the Nile in a felucca.  This pretty awesome boat will be your home tonight, and all three meals are included today. You'll visit the Temple of Sobek, a classic, ruined (you might even say classically ruined) Greco-Roman temple. Continue sailing towards Edfu and take in some timeless scenes of life on the Nile. Your Instagram account should be going off like a frog in a sandstorm by now. Stop in at Edfu to explore the awesomely preserved Temple of Horus (Horus being the falcon-headed God).Please note our Felucca will have shared bathroom facility on board

Day 6: Luxor
The world is your oyster today. And Luxor is one beautiful and interesting world to be in. Enjoy free time – you might want to take a horse-drawn carriage to the massive temple complex at Karnak (one of the most impressive temple complexes in the world, for sure). Some of it dates as far back as 2,055 BC, if that gives you some idea of what you're dealing with.

Day 7: Luxor - Valley of the Kings
Today you'll ride a donkey. But you won't just ride it anywhere. You and your new furry friend will venture to the legendary Valley of the Kings, where the tombs of Egyptian royalty are many. You will visit three of them. Be nice to your donkey and it'll be a nice, peaceful sunrise stroll past fields of alfalfa. Upset him and you’ll be sore for days. In the evening you'll catch an overnight train back to Cairo.Audits were carried out on balloon operators within Egypt to confirm the safety of their operations, unfortunately we were not able to ascertain the safety standards of these balloon operators. Therefore, we are not able to recommend or assist in the booking of any balloon excursions.

Day 8: Cairo
Time for one last walk around Cairo. Head south from Bab al-Futuh (one of the medieval north gates), past the old Islamic monuments that stand watch over the bazaars. Wipe the dust from your brow and say goodbye to this frenetic place. Just go ahead and try not to shed a tear in front of your new travelling buddies.

Day 9: Cairo
Your trip ends today after breakfast.

Please Note: This tour is only applicable for 18 to 29 year olds.

OR Call Us For a Free Quote 1-800-935-2620

Inclusions

  • Cities like Cairo can be dizzying, but your local guides are in the know – they'll have you heading straight for the hottest spots
  • The Pyramids might be hyped, but when you see them, you'll see what all the fuss is about, all right!
  • Set sail on a felucca cruise along the Nile. Back in the day, these wooden boats had zero facilities, but our new pimped-out boat has western-style toilets on board.
  • A visit to the incredible Egyptian Museum, home to King Tut's golden mask, is included
  • Not only will you visit three tombs in the Valley of the Kings, but you'll get there by riding a camel. How Egyptian can you get?
  • Get a taste of Nubian hospitality on your felucca cruise down the Nile. Oh, yeah, and the scenery is all right too...
  • Experience the adventure of overnight train travel, one of the most epic ways to wake up in a new and strange place

Meals
8 Breakfast(s) Included
1 Lunch(es) Included
3 Dinner(s) Included

OR Call Us For a Free Quote 1-800-935-2620

Questions & Answers

Question: How many suitcases can I take with me on my trip?

Each person is allowed one "check-in," and one "carry-on." Remember to take all valuables with you as "carry-on", because electronic equipment, cameras, laptops, jewelry, business documents and money are not covered by the airlines' liability, so always carry them aboard with you.

Question: Is Airfare Included in the Price?

Airfare from your point of origin to and from the trip is not included in the land price.


Note: AffordableTours.com is a travel agent for Intrepid. All prices, itineraries, accommodations and dates are subject to change without notice and at any time by the tour operators. All prices are USD per person and based on double occupancy. Availability is limited and must be reconfirmed at time of booking. Please call us toll free at 1-800-935-2620 to confirm availability and current pricing on all our discounted specials. The prices on this website are not guaranteed until a deposit has been made. We are not responsible for errors, omissions, or changes in these prices until a booking has been confirmed by one of our agents. Some land prices may include an internal air component and discounts will not be offered on the internal air component. Discounts will not be offered on packages with a land price of less than $500.

Better Business Bureau

AffordableTours.com is a proud recipient of the Better Business Bureau (BBB) awards 2006-2017.

It Pays To Refer! Earn Up To $200!

It's simple: You refer your friends, family, and anyone to us and when they book you will receive an American Express gift card worth up to $200 in the mail for simply referring.

Read More

Get discounts by Email!