1-800-342-0019 Speak to a River Cruise Expert

AmaWaterways Cruises Reviews

4.4/5 - Excellent

Based off 275 Reviews

AmaWaterways River Cruises Customer Reviews

Overall Rating
4.4
Accommodations
4.4
Itinerary
4.3
Professional Staff
4.5
Repeat with Operator
4.4
Value for Money
4.2

We Are Committed To:

Call Us For a Free Quote at 1-800-342-0019

Call for Best Value and Service on AmaWaterways River Cruises

Ratings based off 275 reviews about AmaWaterways River Cruises - currently showing 50 reviews with comments only
JM
Julie

Every single worker was friendly, kind and helpful on the AmaStella. Highly recommend this company.

LO
Larry
Reviewed on Jul 26, 2022

As far as I'm concerned, AMA Waterways is a very customer friendly business to deal with. They treat their customers with the utmost respect and as family. They are the only River Cruise outfit that we would consider doing another river cruise with. We have already given them a $400 deposit against a future cruise.

JV
Joanne
Reviewed on Jun 11, 2022

The staff was wonderful, always courteous and helpful. Loved all of the different foods served on board. The Chef's Table was a wonderful way of tasting new foods! The sites we saw were unbelievable! So much to learn and experience. I was a bit surprised with our cabin, I was expecting an outdoor balcony, we had a full length window instead. In the end it really did not matter, we were still able to see all of the beautiful views from our cabin and the sun deck.

FM
Frankie
Reviewed on Apr 10, 2022

This was my 3rd AMA trip and the AMA Magda was fantastic, land hotels especially in Vienna were all great. I want to travel that vessel agIn

KS
Kathleen
Reviewed on Apr 03, 2022

All of the trip leaders were extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the areas and animals. I'd like to give a shout out to Beverly, Dalia, Frank, Derrick, and the two best drivers Emmanuel, and God bless.

HV
Hector

This was the first cruise after lockdown, there were quite a few greenhorns among the service staff but the experienced ones did a terrific job of training the newbies. Arrival was smooth and our room was waiting even though we arrived at 7 a.m. The Tour Manager arranged for transfer to our hotel after the cruise.

KC
Karen

AMA waterways provided a quality experience. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

BW
Barbara
Reviewed on Dec 14, 2021

AMA went above and beyond! Traveling during Covid had multiple new paperwork and tests and restrictions due to covid along with last minute closures of markets. Our wonderful tour guide was so helpful with literally tours canceling on us the day prior to new restrictions such as having to get a covid test at the last minute She was Superwoman! She always found something else to entertain us with and where to get tested. The food was wonderful and the ship was so beautiful loved the decorations the service was amazing! My daughter has celiacs and she was able to enjoy every meal as they made sure she had a selection to choose from this is a major concern of mine. I can't count the times we have had to search for a place to eat and failed. Thank You AMA for making our holiday special! We really needed it this year due to losing several friends and family you made us forget our sadness.

PB
Phillip

This trip was advertised as a French Christmas market cruise and, although, there were two Christmas markets, they really only had food. This is not to be confused with German Christmas market! That being said, Amawaterways is awesome and we have another cruise booked for next year.

SG
Sheryl
Reviewed on Oct 09, 2021

Covid has provided many perils for traveling these days, but we truly enjoyed the AMA cruise mainly due to the great expertise of the Cruise Director, whom we had done a cruise with prior. He is amazing at taking a problem and doing a quick solve with the guests not even being aware. There were lots of changes and unexpected challenges that he did work arounds for and the whole crew was fantastic. This cruise is one that is done infrequently compared to AMA's repertoire, but is most delightful and great little towns to see. Highly recommend!

JW
John
Reviewed on Jan 21, 2020

Very nice experience. All handled in a professional and courteous manner.

RC
Richard
Reviewed on Dec 08, 2019

we traveled with another river cruise line several years ago and much prefer ama waterways.

JL
Jane
Christmas Markets on the Rhine Cruise Only Reverse (Basel to Amsterdam) 2019
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Dec 07, 2019

This was my first river cruise, and my only regret is that I've waited as long as I have to do this. The entire AmaWaterways crew -- from the ship captain all the way to the housekeeper -- were outstanding. The ship itself was beautifully decorated for Christmas, and the cabin was well organized and extremely comfortable. I appreciated the variety of available shore excursions, and the local guides were excellent. I'm looking forward to cruising again many times with AmaWaterways.

KS
Karen
Reviewed on Nov 12, 2019

This was my second trip with Amawaterways and it was just as wonderful as the first. I have actually booked two more with them through Karen at Affordable Tours.

NB
Nancy
Reviewed on Nov 03, 2019

Trip was everything that was expected and more.

SG
Sheryl

We booked the cruise and extensions which was 24 days. Evidentially, this trip could have been booked in segments which we were not aware of as the coming and going of various groups was very strange throughout. We started in Prague, always a great adventure. We were to go to Nuremberg, but due to low water were bused to the ship departure, Vilshofen, with options to hit the first two ports we missed by bus as excursions. Other folks joined from Vienna, a large group came onboard, and we were nearly at max going down the river. All but 18 people left at Budapest, including the Cruise Director. At that point we found out the second portion was a Wine Cruise with a different name, new director, and new passengers came aboard bringing us to capacity once again. So this became two cruises, actually, with totally different passengers on each except the original 18. As we continued for the extension, there were 40 of us until the end in Bucharest. One can see how this was rather disfunctional and more like a train ride with customers joining and departing continuously. Never knew who would be at dinner the next night. This may work from a business point, but very confusing to those that just purchased a single cruise with extensions and enjoyed meeting folks as we sailed down the river. Had I known there would be such a revolving door would have researched better and re-evaluated my choice. AMA, as always did a superb job, but the logistics of this whole adventure must have been a nightmare and stressful for the staff. Vacations need continuity.

KR
Kathie
Reviewed on Oct 04, 2019

We are very pleased with our trip.Morgan gave many options to pick from but, after discussion of the places we wanted to see she help us to narrow our choices.I would recommend Morgan to any of our friends how are planning to travel.

ID
Inez
Reviewed on Sep 23, 2019

Could not improve on this fabulous tour

SV
Sandra
Reviewed on Sep 21, 2019

The AmaWaterway trip along the Douro - with extensions in Madrid and Lisbon -- provides a wonderful autumn interlude in Iberia. The program is especially strong for the one week spent on the Douro. The programs in Madrid and Lisbon leave a great deal of free time -- good if you can arrange your own meals and excursions, not so good if you like more arranged, especially after long flight to Europe.

CP
Colleen
Reviewed on Aug 12, 2019

I appreciated the tips for preparation before we travelled. The trip exceeded our expectations and was just wonderful! The onboard per person credit was useful for small purchases aboard ship and helped pay gratuities at the end of our cruise.

BD
Beatrice

Everything was first class with lots of attention to detail and the pleasure of the passengers.

JV
Joanne
Reviewed on Jul 14, 2019

This was a vacation of a lifetime! Staff members were courteous, friendly and very helpful with every aspect of the trip. The sites were fabulous! Made many wonderful friends along the way! Would recommend this trip to anyone! Many beautiful memories were made!

AM
Ann
Reviewed on Jul 07, 2019

Our cruise was excellent. A perfect choice for us.

PB
Phillip
Romantic Danube (Vilshofen to Budapest) (Wine Cruise) Cruise Only 2019
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Jul 02, 2019

Vince is my agent that tends to my wife and myself's travel desires. He is the most accommodating person with the company providing an extremely competitive competitive rate.

DB
Donald
Reviewed on May 22, 2019

All the arrangements were made through Affordable Tours and everything went as planned.

RO
Rose
Reviewed on May 06, 2019

Amawaterways is an exceptional company! They went above and beyond when my sister fell and shattered her elbow the day before she, her husband and I were scheduled to start our Rhine River Cruise with Amawaterways in Basal. She and her husband had to remain in Basal so my sister could undergo surgery. I went on the cruise alone. Amawaterways sent their representative to the University Hospital Basal every day of her stay and helped with paperwork and offered much needed advice. In the meantime, the staff and passengers onboard the AmaKristina ensured that I had a wonderful time. A day did not pass that they didn't inquire about my sister's recovery. When she returned home, she received flowers and a lovely note from the company president. Amawaterways is definitely number one in my book.

GR
Glenn

This was our third cruise with AmaWaterways and we are quite pleased. Our Cruise Manager was outstanding. The ship's crew were professional, courteous and efficient. We will book another cruise with them.

BC
Barry
Reviewed on Apr 22, 2019

Staff was wonderful and extremely accommodating Boat was nice very clean and and in good working order Food was good not excellent Service was excellent and chef did accommodate special requests Specialty restaurant food was excellent But can only go once

CF
Craig
Reviewed on Apr 18, 2019

Richard is GREAT! We have worked with him several times in the past and we are about to do another river cruise with Richard's excellent assistance. He has always gone out of his way to help and provides service far above our expectations! In addition, he is a very nice person.

VC
Victoria
Reviewed on Mar 23, 2019

AmaWaterways provided a wonderful experience - the food, the staff, the excursions and the ship were all top notch!

LS
Lyle

This was the most incredible life experiences! The AmaWaterways Cruise - African Wildlife and Falls exceeded all expectations. The Zambezi Queen cruising on the Chobe River in Namibia with side land safari in Botswana allowed you to see wildlife in their natural habitat and to experience a true African village and understand their lifestyle. The Water Safaris [5] lead by Francis viewed elephants, baboons, crocodiles, hippos, cape buffaloes and others up close. The staff led by Bernard was always there - friendly, helpful and proud of Namibia. The food was outstanding - gourmet quality comparable to first class restaurants anywhere. The Land Safari into Chobe National Park was also excellent viewing elephants really upclose - 5 feet or so. Our next visit was to Victoria Falls, standing at the grand hotel Victoria Falls Hotel. There room was vintage and modern 1920â??s; the food again was outstanding. Two experiences stood out: [1] the visit to the Falls - massive and magnificent and [2] the steam engine ride to Zambia. Then, we visited Jo-burg - an ok experience. Finally, we were off to the Makanyi Lodge and Game Reserve - a totally incredible and peak experience. The Lodge has seven cabins- 2.500 sq.ft. - with living room, bedroom and massive bath including outdoor shower. The food was 5 star, including Kudu tenderloin. During our five safaris, we experiences lions, giraffes, zebras, hippos, cape buffaloes, rhinos - black and white, hyenas, and sunsets.

AB
Antoinette

The staff was so friendly and the made the trip even more enjoyable. The cruise manager, Marc, was amazing!

IM
Irma

Everything was perfect. Hotels booked were excellent, Amadante was perfect, staff always courteous and professional, tours were very informative, but Veronika our Cruise Manager was exceptional.

KN
Keith

Food choices and flavors were excellent. Boat decor was upscale and clean. Staff was cheerful efficient and very pleasant. Shore excursions were well managed and local guides excellent. All in all a wonderful cruise experience.

HN
Heather

Reka the Tour Manager was outstanding. The staff were courteous although travelling solo I was overlooked by the wine waiter quite often.

GB
Grant

Ama Waterways is without question a top tier operator. At first I was concerned that I would lose the small tour feel that I like. I should not have worried. The whole experience is designed to provide intimate settings, friendly atmosphere and NO Lines or waiting. Incredible staff. Personalized tour service with the advantages of a group. The mix of other guests was delightful. Our best vacation ever.

GR
Glenn

This was our second trip with AmaWaterways and it was consistent in quality with our first. Our tour manager and our local guides were outstanding. Itinerary included a variety of interesting experiences and there was a nice balance of planned excursions and free time. Land accommodations on the pre- and post-cruise extension were excellent.

MB
Marie

Excellent varied activities. Sensitive to indicudiuals who were unable to do the strenuous outings. Excellent staff in all the countries. The tour director was on top of everything and very interested in all the guests.

KS
Karl

The entire AMA Waterways Cruise experience was excellent!

GC
Gail

The AMA Kristina was a brand new boat and extremely nice. The staff was wonderful as well as the food. We really enjoyed the organization of the tours and the guides were really good.

SV
Sandra

Cruise with AmaWaterways - with extensions in Paris and Barcelona - was excellent. Main suggestions - provide more time at some stops along the Rhine River such as Nimes or Avignon. Also provide meals for first evening in new city - especially arrival at first stop in Paris when travelers are jet-lagged.

JM
Joseph

Excellent trip, great staff on board, size of the ship made it a more friendly and intimate cruise.

PM
Paula

The trip was outstanding. Very professional staff and excellent accommodations.

CM
Carol

The cruise director on this cruise (Paris-Normandy) was very, very, good. Food was awesome as usual. The only issue was with luggage handling. The baggage crew delivered several bags to wrong staterooms, and upon departure did not follow the rules outlined by Cruise Director to ensure luggage was identified before loading into transport. At both Arrival and departure our bags were temporarily "lost." However, in general the crew and activities were well coordinated and we had a very enjoyable experience.

SS
Salvatore

River cruise with AmaWaterways was great. No problems. It was a great cruise.

MT
Mary

This trip with AMAWaterways was beyond outstanding from start to finish. The ship, crew, meals, and excursions were all excellent and exceeded my expectations. I loved it.

CG
Christopher

Great cruise and great time of the year. As expected, some docking spots needed more time to fully appreciate, and others had too much time with too little to see, but the travelers are all different. Wonderful ship and crew, and the food was fantastic. AMA always does a wonderful job and is most attentive to their travelers. On the extensions, a city tour is very valuable, but if one does not choose the additional excursions offered, there is way too much free time in cities which offer fewer options to a newcomer on their own. Perhaps include a page of alternate sightseeing options, museums, trip advisor tours or such rather than just "free time" on your own, and meals on your own in a strange city. Once on the extension, we did not see our tour director a great deal even though hours were posted for the table in the lobby. Hotel staff was most helpful in question answering and pulling boarding passes, directions, etc.

ID
India

AMA Waterways was definitely luxury, the balcony rooms were nice, the amenities were wonderful. They really go above and beyond on the meals and providing a variety. Wine and beer were included with all meals. Almost all of the excursions were included and there was a great variety in each port.

SJ
Stephen

Everything was included in the price of this tour including the off shore excursions. There were so many excursions that the week went by very quick.

CF
Craig

AMA Waterways is an excellent provider of high quality river cruises. This was our 4th river cruise with AMA and we are planning number 5. Never a problem, everything works moothly and timely. Cruise managers are truly top quality as well as the local tour guides. I can't say enough positive things about AMA Waterways!


AffordableTours.com BBB Business Review

Better Business Bureau

AffordableTours.com is a proud recipient of the Better Business Bureau (BBB) awards 2006-2020 with A+ Rating.

It Pays To Refer! Earn Up To $200!

It's simple: Sign up your friends, family, and anyone to us and when they book you will receive an American Express gift card worth up to $200 in the mail for simply referring.

Read More

Get discounts by Email!