1-800-342-0019 Speak to a River Cruise Expert

Avalon Waterways Cruises Reviews

4.3/5 - Excellent

Based off 1,284 Reviews

Avalon Waterways River Cruises Customer Reviews

Overall Rating
4.3
Accommodations
4.4
Itinerary
4.3
Professional Staff
4.6
Repeat with Operator
4.2
Value for Money
4.1

We Are Committed To:

Call Us For a Free Quote at 1-800-342-0019

Guaranteed Low Prices on Avalon Waterways River Cruises

Ratings based off 1,284 reviews about Avalon Waterways River Cruises - currently showing 50 reviews with comments only
BB
Brian

We found Avalon Waterways to be an excellent experience. The rooms were good sized and well appointed. The food was outstanding and the staff went above our expectations to make the trip comfortable and enjoyable.

PB
Paula

Did not know what to expect with a river cruise as we've always gone on large cruise ships but ended up loving it.

CJ
Carolyn
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2023

This was our second Avalon cruise and we recommend them to everyone!

FD
Frank

This is our third river cruise with Avalon Waterways and they have done an outstanding job on every cruise. Will recommend them without hesitation.

RR
Rosemary
Reviewed on Oct 09, 2023

Avalon Waterways goes the extra mile to ensure every passenger is satisfied.

CV
Clarence

Wonderful cruise.

AM
Ann

The food was awesome, better than expected.

SK
Simon
Reviewed on Aug 18, 2023

Avalon Passion had the intimate atmosphere of small ship cruising. By the end of the trip there was a good family atmosphere on the boat. The ship was in great condition, crew and staff were pleasant and attentive and the Tour Director was great. Local guides were all passionate about their destinations, and since we were in four different countries in a week, we got interesting, and sometime startling, perspectives on Balkan history. The weather was very hot, and this made some of the walking tours rather grueling, but the Tour director and guides did their best to adapt tours to the heat, and make sure there was plenty of water, rest and shade. The shore based last three days were fascinating but tiring. All in all, a great experience.

MT
Marcelle
Reviewed on Aug 10, 2023

Was a fabulous experience. Avalon, the boat, the staff, the tours, the airfare. Perfect!

SM
Sally

Great service. All done quickly & efficiently. Great cruise. Great price

TD
Tracey
Reviewed on Jul 30, 2023

Everything went without a hitch. Our agent had everything perfectly arranged and managed! We had a great time.

PH
Patricia

The trip was absolutely perfect. I have a long experience with Globus (17 trips) and more recently with Avalon Waterways (4 cruises), and I have never considered using another company because of the outstanding quality of the staff, the professionalism and helpfulness of everyone involved and the outstanding nature of activities. They are simply the best.

PB
Peter

Our trip exceeded my expectations. The staff were very friendly and I could tell they had a great team commitment to their mission.

TB
Timothy

While our cabin had a 4 pm check-in, we were given a room as soon as we arrived... a nice perk after an overnight flight! This was our second time on an Avalon cruise and we noticed improvements in on-board electronic communications, kiosks, and TV displays with daily information. This cruise also included a daily happy hour.

VH
Vera
Reviewed on May 02, 2023

The tour was very good organized! Staff, meals, logistics were amazing.

TT
Thaddeus
Reviewed on May 01, 2023

Enjoyed our first river cruise and will definitely book again.

JH
Judy

Avalon was excellent in every way.

JM
John

The ship and staff were caring, well organized, and knowledgeable. All aspects of the tour went as planned. The Rhine cruise has some very pleasant and interesting excursions, most were included. Adding two extra days in Amsterdam rounded out a good vacation.

JS
Joseph

Great food, beautiful scenery, friendly staff and travelers with similar travel plans make for a amazing vacation. I highly recommend it.

SP
Sandra

This was my fourth river cruise with Avalon, and I love everything about them! The ships, the rooms, the staff, the food - all excellent. The staterooms have every imaginable convenience. The variety and quality of the meals are top notch. The staff was incredibly helpful and cheerful, and they are welcoming to solo travelers, like myself. I would happily book a fifth European cruise with them, until I run out of rivers!

CS
Chester
Reviewed on Mar 27, 2023

AVALON did NOT disappoint again--- this was our third Riverboat trip with Avalon. Ship was beautiful -- staff was excellent --- food was absolutely amazing. Entertainment was great -- guides for the off boat tours were very knowledgeable and personal.

DH
David
fascinating vietnam cambodia the mekong river with hanoi ha long bay bangkok southbound
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Jan 27, 2023

This trip delivered entertainment, education, and discovery. The operator's staff was truly exceptional.

DH
David
Fascinating Vietnam Cambodia the Mekong River with Bangkok Northbound
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Oct 23, 2022

This was our third trip with Avalon. They always exceed our expectations. The riverboat Avalon Saigon was wonderful. The cabin, food, drinks, and crew were the best we have ever had. The hotels we stayed at were 5 stars. Excellent service and great locations. The tours were all excellent and came off without at smallest problem. Our cruise director was exceptional he worked very hard to make sure everything was running smoothly. He was by far the best director we have ever had. In summary we would highly recommend this trip.

GS
Geraldine
Reviewed on Oct 17, 2022

Had a wonderful time. Everything was to our expectations and more. Will do it again.

DR
Donna
Reviewed on Sep 26, 2022

We enjoyed the river cruise very much. The food was excellent, the staterooms were very nice, and the excursions were well-run.

DJ
Dorothy

The staff was welcoming and accommodating to all our needs. They made the trip extremely pleasureable.

MG
Marcia

Internet was only available inside boat in many cases, on upper deck and anywhere outside it was spotty. The crew members were awesome. This was our first cruise with Avalon, we had previously cruised with another company on the Rhine, but were joining our friends who had already selected Avalon, and we were pleased with it.

CS
Candee
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2022

It was difficult to break larger bills on the trip, so I would recommend brings small bills for tips for excursions or staff members who are exceptional.

CA
Cecil
Reviewed on Aug 07, 2022

The entire Avalon staff were outstanding, especially our cruise director. I was very pleased to be able to book this trip with the single supplement waived.

CA
Cecil

This tour /cruise was fantastic. The pre-cruise extension in Transylvania was for me the highlight and anyone considering the cruise should definitely include this. Our Avalon cruise director and the entire crew were outstanding as were the local guides who were extremely knowledgeable and spoke perfect English.

FD
Frank
Reviewed on Jul 06, 2022

Outstanding cruise,ship and crew were excellent.Cruise Director Simona is a delight,extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Will travel again with Avalon.

GH
Geoffrey
Reviewed on Jul 06, 2022

I would travel on valon only in the future. Cleaner, newer, more comfortable ships with a great stafff. Better than my previous river cruises with a high end ship! And the cruise director has to be the absolutely best in the industry!!!

SD
Susan

We had an excellent time! Avalon was so accommodating...will definitely book with them in the future. Thank you, Richard for all your help in making this trip happen.

RB
Robert

Pairing lunch and dinner wines with the city/area we were in would enhance the experience. The cruise directors, Jean and Tony were outstanding. Very professional and always coordinating so there were no unpleasant experiences.

AM
Arlene
Reviewed on May 28, 2022

Don't be afraid to try the active excursions. They were amazing and they were honest if they felt a guest wouldn't be comfortable with the level of difficulty.

JM
James

The overall dining experience was ok, not great

BB
Betty
Reviewed on May 19, 2022

Avalon was excellent in every way. Beautiful room, excellent service, and delicious food. They performed without a hitch.

BA
Beth

Wonderful tour directors . So accommodating and personable.

EB
Edward

Avalon did a good job on most fronts. Staff, food and accommodations were all fine. Although they appeared to have some coordination issues with the hotel regarding baggage handling and definitely needed to improve traveler communication aboard the ship. Their reliance on the AvalonGo application for communication was misplaced since the wifi aboard ship worked only intermittently, leaving passengers to wonder about event times and procedures. The ship broke down near the end of the voyage, which suggested that the downtime during covid might have been used more effectively to maintain the propulsion system. Nightly briefings were helpful, but long-winded and repetitious.

RD
Robert

Lost this trip two years in a row. Third time was a charm. Timing was perfect to see Keukenhof Gardens in full bloom. History of the Cologne region and The Black Forest in Germany was spectacular. An added bonus was wine tasting in the Alsace region in France. Everything was perfect. Looking forward to another trip in a different location. As far as an "all inclusive", this is a great value. Would highly recommend.

KC
Karen
Reviewed on Oct 21, 2021

Loved the River cruise venue. Intimate, quiet, and friendly.

TR
Theodor
Reviewed on Oct 18, 2021

Avalon had all details worked out, never felt confused or unsure of the daily activities. Worry free vacation

CM
Carlos

We've sailed with Avalon before and love their ships.

MA
Michael
Reviewed on Aug 28, 2021

Wonderful river cruise on the Rhine. Superb crew and service. Excellent food. Excellent tours.

MK
Michael
Reviewed on Aug 12, 2021

This was our first river cruise. The ship was nice and the staff exceptional. We were told that river cruises are more about the included tours than the ship. That was clearly true. There isn't much to do on the ship other than eat and sleep. I thought the tours were just okay. The guides were great, knowledgeable and enthusiastic, but they were mostly walking to take pictures. We paid for several optional tours and based on feedback from other cruisers our tours were more interesting than theirs. Overall I think ocean cruising may be a better fit for us.

KS
Kevin

Dinner, as with all river cruises, was later than we like. It became a matter of either eating dinner or managing to sleep. The food was good but not good enough to pass on sleeping.

KK
Kenneth
fascinating vietnam cambodia the mekong river with bangkok northbound
5/5 - Excellent
Accommodations
5
Itinerary
5
Professional Staff
5
Repeat with Operator
5
Value for Money
5
Reviewed on Feb 03, 2020

Great trip for cultural experiences with local people, customs and way of life.

DH
Donna

Avalon River Cruise was wonderful. Accommodations, meals and crew were all amazing. The only negative was the bus tours to the Christmas Markets which falls on the tour guides. They did not take into consideration the passengers ability to keep up with the tour and spent too much time on other aspects of the tour and rushed us through the markets. Would be better if the bus dropped us off and the markets and let us walk around and tell us up front a meeting place to return to the ship.

AW
Adrienne

Our river cruise was excellent especially visiting Omaha Beach which was the highlight of the whole experience. We enjoy meeting people from all over the world. The food was superb and our room was very comfortable.


AffordableTours.com BBB Business Review

Better Business Bureau

AffordableTours.com is a proud recipient of the Better Business Bureau (BBB) awards 2006-2022 with A+ Rating.

It Pays To Refer! Earn Up To $200!

It's simple: Sign up your friends, family, and anyone to us and when they book you will receive an American Express gift card worth up to $200 in the mail for simply referring.

Read More

Get discounts by Email!